Planning & Building

Areas within our jurisdiction include unincorporated Hancock County and the Towns of Spring Lake and Shirley.

Building Department Functions

The Building Department is responsible for issuing electrical, pool, sign, building permits, change of uses, and Commercial Projects and performing all required inspections. They also issue citations for unsafe building codes. For more information see Policies and Procedures.

Please find the following Indiana Department of Homeland Security information below:

Planning Department

The Planning Department is responsible for issues Improvement of Location Permits (ILP) for all buildings and pools, enforcing Hancock County's zoning code, receiving petition submittals for public hearings, assigning new addresses for new structures and providing information to the public regarding the Hancock County Zoning Ordinance, Sub-Division Ordinance and Hancock County Comprehensive Plan.